Pomp And Circumstance

I re-did my phone area….

Posted in Before and After, Circumstance's Home, Decor Files, Inspiration by Miss Circumstance on April 21, 2010

in my kitchen. It used to be an old metal tool box that I got from the flea market – the phone sat on top and it had pencils and scissors and stuff inside. I still love the idea of taking something that was meant for one thing and using it for another, but it didn’t really go with the rest of the kitchen. So here is what I did instead…

The paper is a wallpaper sample I had that I mounted to plywood and just leaned it up against the wall

*Design Tip: using all the same colored pencils is a quick way to make a space looked designed or orderly.

There was nothing on the wall there before and it is amazing what this little thing (well, not so little thing) does to make it look like a “space”. This I made in about 20 minutes…..the paper is from an old book and it is rolled into cone shapes. Then I hot glued them all to a piece of cardboard I cut out of an old Pampers box. The “E” I drew by hand (I copied it off of a mug I have from Anthropologie). Then I just glued it on top of two circles of similar colored paper to give it dimension, and hide the area where all the papers come together.  The frame is an old one I have kept in the garage for years cause I liked it but didn’t know what to do with it.

….What do you think?

Tagged with: , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lainey said, on April 22, 2010 at 12:57 am

    This is stellar work. I especially love the “E” art. My first visit to the blog-it won’t be my last.

  2. Ronda said, on April 22, 2010 at 3:25 am

    love it! and love you! xo

  3. Brenda said, on April 22, 2010 at 4:27 am

    LOVE the “decoration” – you are amazingly crafty and make things “sound” so easy to make. I personally am afraid of hot glue guns and paper….I see a fire and “bonded” fingers in my future just thinking about it. Keep the ideas coming….

  4. amanda* said, on May 13, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    So very cool Jessie!


Leave a Reply

