Pomp And Circumstance

Every Artist Is A Cannibal, Every Poet Is A Thief, All Kill Their Inspiration, Then Sing About The Grief….

Posted in Circumstance's Home, D.I.Y., Decor Files, Inspiration, Uncategorized by Miss Circumstance on May 5, 2010

Have you ever thought about the line between being inspired by someone’s work and stealing their idea? It’s an intriguing question to think about for a moment. But when I think about things like that for more than a minute… I get bored. I am not a deep, philosophical, lets-discuss-which-came-first-chicken-or-egg type person. Chew on that when you look at this picture of Jenna Lyons house (Jcrew lady),

and this painting that her husband did and I love. I thought I could do something like that. So I bought some canvas by the yard and wrapped it around a big old window frame I had and began painting. This is how it turned out:

I know, it’s not too impressive, it’s just a bunch of black dots. But I “painted” 🙂

Tagged with: , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lainey said, on May 5, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    No, that’s really cool. My husband and I are very into that whole minimalist look, and this painting is right up our alley.

  2. Valerie Nelson said, on May 26, 2010 at 3:52 am

    WOW Jessie :O) Looks great! Just like your ‘inspiration’ piece!

    Val


Leave a Reply

