Pomp And Circumstance

A Dresser Upside Down Is A…..Flower Bed??

Posted in Circumstance's Home, D.I.Y., Decor Files, Inspiration by Miss Circumstance on May 22, 2010

Miss Circumstance is venturing outside the home today and onto the front patio, where I have made my first attempt at a vegetable garden. I got this awesome book at a local bookstore with a gift certificate I got for Christmas called Grow Great Grub: Organic Food From Small Spaces

It’s all about working with what you’ve got- you got a sunny window and a coffee can? You can grow tomatoes! It’s not an overwhelmingly fatty book either, which is good for me because I can get lost in a how-to book if it is too thick and too long. Anyways, one of the tips in this book is to look for free piles of stuff on the side of the road, because you would be surprised at what can be made into a flower bed. And building flower beds from scratch can actually be kind of expensive.

So here is my veggie and herb garden – it’s on the front patio of our house because that is the spot that gets the sun for the longest. See the bed on the left? That is a dresser that we found on the side of the road!! We (the husband part of we) pulled out the pieces of wood that separated the drawers and voila…a garden bed.

Close-up of dresser garden bed

So hopefully we’ll be eating some fresh cucumbers, green beans, lettuce, tomatoes, and carrots soon. The herbs have been growing great and are sooooo easy. If a dummy gardener like me can grow them, anyone can. And it is so much better than paying for them at the store when they are so easy to grow. And you usually only need a little bit but have to go all the way to the store for that little bit. It pains me to pay for an herb like basil when I could be growing one plant that would last me a whole season. So go try it! You can do it!

Tagged with: ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dionne Pike said, on May 27, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    If only more than 88 people would hear this.

  2. Grant Cotton said, on May 29, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    Hah I am actually the first reply to this great post.

  3. Jacqueline Hoang said, on May 30, 2010 at 5:35 am

    Hehe I am honestly the first comment to your incredible writing!

  4. Alta Mays said, on May 30, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    If only I had a dollar for each time I came here! Incredible post!

  5. Benita Rojas said, on May 30, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    If only more than 22 people could read this.


Leave a Reply

