Pomp And Circumstance

So I Made This Thing….

Posted in Circumstance's Home, D.I.Y., Decor Files, Inspiration by Miss Circumstance on July 10, 2010

I have had these great curtains in storage for like, 6 years. I got them at the flea market about 10 years ago for some crazy cheap price. I had to take the lining off because it was falling apart in my hands, but I loved the beautiful brocade golden-yellow fabric. I finally pulled them out and hung them in my bedroom. We have a sliding glass door in there that I love because of all the light that it lets in, but it also is a bummer in the morning because of all the light that it lets in. I wanted to do something a bit different then your average curtain rod so I hit the hardware store and came up with this-

It’s in a hallway thing which makes it hard to get a good picture, but hopefully you can see well enough. I had the pole already (which was also from the hardware store, and is a cheaper way to go than a so-called curtain rod. I think it is technically a closet dowel), so I just got the chain which is cut to size, hooks for the ceiling, and those hook things that look like what rock climbers use. I also put screws at either end of the dowel that were only screwed in halfway to keep the rings from sliding off the ends. I’m sure it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but I feel like it is a point of interest and a bit out of the box.

As you will notice in the pictures, I still need to paint my ceiling:-). I started the process of painting my room and changing out some bedding about a month and a half ago, and still have not finished. But I’m so close!! I’ll post some before and after pictures soon…as soon as I paint the ceiling.

Leave a Reply

