Pomp And Circumstance

What’s With Me And Nature?

Posted in Circumstance's Home, D.I.Y., Decor Files, Inspiration, Uncategorized by Miss Circumstance on August 14, 2010

A couple of weeks ago I was pulling one of my belts off the plastic hanger that had, like, 15 belts on it, and the hanger snapped in half, leading to all of said belts falling to the floor. They sat there on the floor for about two weeks because I wanted to do something cool to hang them back up, but wasn’t sure what. I ended up deciding to find  a big ol’ branch that had a little curve to it and maybe a little fork at the end. I found one in a parking lot and tossed it in my trunk (that probably looked interesting). I sanded it and scrubbed it with soap and water and let it sit in the sun for a day. Then I lacquered it up with two coats of insanely toxic smelling stuff called Deft.

I had to hang it behind my clothes because I don’t have enough wall space to just have it on an open wall. I mounted it by putting two gold eye hooks into the wall, and then wrapped a bunch of twine around the sticks and tied it through.

I pounded in nails every few inches, and that is what the belts are actually hanging on. I think I will do one for my husband to. We have one of those pass-through closets that you walk through to get to the bathroom. I’ll have to show it to you sometime…..I’ve been slowly working on it over the years. It has a brown, yellow, pink and white Ikat patterned rug on the ground, and then I painted yellow and white stripes on the walls- things I probably would not do in any other room in my house, but I think it’s fun to do things like that in a closet and make it a little get-away space. I actually have been saving pictures lately of dream closets (well, actually they are all pretty much rooms because apparently these people’s houses are so big, and their wardrobes so large they have whole rooms). We’ll show those pictures soon too.

Anyways……I way digress from the closet branch belt holdy thing

*SIDE-NOTE: Should one try this project at home, one should be for-warned that the Deft on the branch takes about a week to stop smelling like Deft. But it eventually does.

Tagged with: , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Naomi said, on August 14, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    IIIII like it! I may have to try that out

  2. Veronika Novotny said, on August 15, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    Ooooh this is a great idea – love it! I always love finding ways to display my clothes and things in creative ways -thanks for the tip!

    http://veronikan.squarespace.com/

  3. second Skin said, on May 18, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    Hi! I just recently overhauled one of my spare rooms and made it a huge closet (as you mentioned above) and I was looking for an awesome way to hang my belts and this may be the winner!! Thanks for the inspiration!

    A link to my new closet! http://secondskinstyle.blogspot.com/2011/05/closet-progress.html


Leave a Reply

