Pomp And Circumstance

I Spy With My Little Eye EVERYTHING STAR WARS

Posted in Circumstance's Home, Fashion Files, Inspiration by Miss Circumstance on September 3, 2010

I thought it could be fun over the next while to go room by room in my house, and give you guys a little tour. The good the bad and ugly. There are things that I love, things that are embarrassingly unfinished, and things that are bad to the bone. But hey, what do I care?! I love my house – I love where it is, I love the size (not too big, not too small. I’ve had both. One makes you coo-coo and one is really hard to keep clean), I love the wood floors, and I love the natural light it gets (in most rooms).

So today we’ll start with Jaden’s room. See, the thing is, he’s at that age where about a year ago he discovered the world of Star Wars. If it were up to him he would have Star Wars on every sheet and pillowcase, shoe and underwear. Underwear is the perfect place for all things Star Wars. He’s really down with things being accurate too- like “No mom, when Obi Wan fights Darth Vader he spins around like this and then jumps”. And this is while we are playing light saber fights in our brown shirts and pants (cause that’s the colors they wear), with one of the eight light sabers he has. Oh yes, count them – eight.

Anyways, Jaden is actually really creative and loves to paint and draw and color, so he often has ideas about what to do to his room. Like “Mom, can we paint my room red and purple stripes?”. Sheeesh. We compromised with this blue. I think it’s called Electric Blue, or something like that. And boy is it electric. I think it works though because of the bead board on the bottom, the room gets lots of light, and I kept the bedding all white. Look close and you’ll many a Star War helmet, X-Wing, Y-wings, and all other sorts of wing things.

He made that piece of art himself on sheetrock. Pretty sweet huh?!

A little while ago I moved his desk area into the closet. I pretty much just used what I had around the house and garage to set it up.

Those baskets are from the Dollar Tree. The Dollar Tree is the bomb. I just hung them on the wall with those twist in wall hooks.

I lugged those rocks home from a creek and spray painted them white to use as book ends. This was another one of those grab-what-I-have-in-the-garage things. Except the rocks.

Tagged with: , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. LuLu said, on September 3, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    I love this Jessie :)! Can’t wait to see the other room! OH TO BE ABLE TO PAINT!! 😉

  2. Tami Manchester said, on September 3, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    Keep going on want to see it all!!! Good job by the way, Jaden’s room looks awesome and I love his art. Love, love, love it!

  3. Tami Manchester said, on September 3, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    Where did you get Jaden’s curtains or did you make them?

    • Miss Circumstance said, on September 7, 2010 at 12:39 pm

      I made them….the fabric was from Ikea, although I don’t think they have it anymore. They have lots like it though.

  4. Miss Pomp said, on September 4, 2010 at 11:21 am

    I wanna know why no one is asking about that amazing “BUST A MOVE.” rug!
    That, folks, was the purchase of the century!

  5. Chelsea Blackwell Binta said, on September 5, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    Jess! I love the baskets on the wall of the closet! I found the same ones up here and I loved them, yet I didn’t know what to do with them! Now I do! LOVE IT! Great job!!


Leave a Reply

