Pomp And Circumstance

By The Beard Of Zeus What Have i Done?!

Posted in Circumstance's Home, D.I.Y., Decor Files, Inspiration by Miss Circumstance on September 8, 2010

Ok, so awhile back I bought a couple of chairs from the Goodwill for like, $20 cause I liked the shape and the lines. The “fabric” did not meet my fancy and I thought I would just cover it up. I’ve done that before….the kind of re-upholstering where you just cover up what is already there with fabric and a staple gun. Well, this time friends it was a total bust. Every time someone sat it in (and by someone I mean Uncle Jonathan), an upholstery tack or two would shoot out, and the some of the fabric would pull off. Yeah- not what you want. So I took it apart and stuck them in my attic.

Said chair-

So the other day I pulled one down and thought “How hard could it be to pull off the fabric, take it down to the bones, and do it right.” The answer is really freakin’ hard.

This is when I first started and realized how many staples held this thing together-

This is the point where I thought “By the beard of Zeus what have I done!!!”-

The whole thing took me a couple of hours, and several moments of almost giving up. I had to stop one day cause my hand just could not grip anymore. But finally we got down to the base. Ever seen a naked chair? Well here ya go-

I don’t yet have any fabric to recover it in (I am thinking about a charcoal grey linen…does such a thing exist?), but I’ll keep you posted on its progress.

And on a side note, Pomp and Circumstance will sign off for a few days, as Miss Pomp and I and a few others are heading up to a lake for a long weekend. Yeah for those! Although I just checked the weather report and it is only supposed to reach 75 degrees! What’s up with that? This has been the coldest summer here in many years, and apparently at Lake Almanor too. I’m still holding out for 90’s…

Tagged with: ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tami Manchester said, on September 8, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    Somebody needs to take an upholstery class….that thing is hideous but I always love your ability to see past ugly! Love you and wish I was gonna be at the lake with you!


Leave a Reply

