Pomp And Circumstance

Zat You, Santa Claus

Posted in D.I.Y., Decor Files, Inspiration by Miss Circumstance on December 8, 2010

We do pretty traditional trees around our house, but I always love ideas for out-of-the-box decorating, including Christmas trees. I’m a “trees need to have white lights on them, of course” kind of girl. It seriously pains me to put colored lights on trees. My son has been BEGGING me to put big colored lights on the tree, but I just can’t do it. I finally gave in to the colored lights outside this year, but I draw the line at the tree (at least for this year:-).

This is still pretty traditional, but with a bit of a twist

No secret that I have a thing for sticks

Both of these pics are from Pure Green Design, which gave me an idea for what to do with these-

which I saw on the ground at the Christmas tree lot and thought “oooooo, something cool needs to be done with these!”. And as the guy stared at me blankly as I asked him if I could have the bottoms of the trees that they cut off that were scattered about, I thought, “I am so my mother!!”.

 

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Katie Hund said, on December 9, 2010 at 9:11 am

    I collected the bottoms of christmas trees last year too!! I sanded and sealed them and made them into coasters. maybe this year i should collect again and make a wall hanging. hmmmm…..

  2. Michael Spooner said, on January 16, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    This room is sick.

  3. Nifty Tom Fifty « Pomp And Circumstance said, on February 16, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    […] found another use for those Christmas tree stump cast-offs I was collecting last year: a weight to keep in place my don’t-even-think-about-actually-using-these gray and white […]

  4. […] Christmas Party I had been working on. I sprayed them with brown spray paint, and set one of the Christmas Tree trunk cast offs between the newly sprayed head and a white glass candle holder. Super simple, but looks pretty […]


Leave a Reply

