Pomp And Circumstance

Friends, We Have Some Catching Up To Do

Posted in Circumstance's Home, Decor Files, Inspiration by Miss Circumstance on January 6, 2011

I realized that I had been working on some things around the house but never showed you guys. So here is an updated picture of my living room, and then I, your friendly Circumstance-y tour guide will walk you (blog you) through it.

I had to hawk some stuff to get some new stuff (thank you very much Craigslist), so out with the old couch, in with my sis’ hand-me-down-couch, and out with my leather club chair (too bulky for the room), and in with several other things from the one sale of that chair. The rug is by my design-crush Nate Berkus. It’s his Dhurrie Rug……um, yes please. I had the sit-down “Boys, mommy worked really hard for this rug” talk with my kids. Cause there be a lot of white on this here rug, and that is risky with kids. But I have to say it holds up really well, and my boys have done really good. There was the infamous “spill” done by my 3 year old, who cried and wailed “it was an accident mom”, as I ran and yelled for a rag in a panic. But it cleaned up super well! It has a texture that the water almost doesn’t penetrate. Cool beans. And I had to apologize and tell Van mommy was really sorry for freaking out, and everybody spills. Man.

I made new pillow covers for the couch pillows to go with the new rug

Made this from this felt flower rosette tutorial, that I blogged about back in the day here. It’s super easy! Isn’t that nice?! And felt is ch- to-the-eap.

I got this coffee table for 30 bones…..the marble top alone is worth more than that. I hadn’t had a coffee table for several years because I had small kids running around, and they needed room to play. But they are getting older now, and I am ready to have the living room look like adults live here too. The base was dark brown wood when I got it, but I already have beaucoup brown in there so I wanted to lighten it up. And that was when I was introduced to Nimbus Cloud by Martha Stewart. Hello perfect shade of pale grey, nice to meet you.

My husband got me this Jonathan Adler coffee table book for Christmas- so fun! It’s a great book if you need some direction in what kind of colors in what shades go together, and to just get a glimpse on how he puts things together. He is a man who is not afraid of color, so be ready to be HAPPY awake with color.

This is the next thing I’m working on-

My friend gave me this chandelier (love hand me downs), and I plan to hang it over my dining table after i spray it this color-

This Montana brand spray paint is found in art supply stores, but I use it on everything from furniture to lamp bases. The colors are beautiful and specific. Not like the one shade of forest green at hardware stores. There’s like, 10 shades of yellow to choose from. The color here (called Soap), looks much more shockingly turquoise than it does in person. In person it looks more like Arsenic by Farrow and Ball, which is what I was going for. Kind of minty blue green. Here it is in a  (on the walls)-

Tagged with: , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Teresa Silva said, on January 6, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    Awesome job. SO creative and inspiring. I’m ready for some new colors in my house. Maybe you can come over and inspire me!! 🙂

    • Miss Circumstance said, on January 10, 2011 at 9:17 am

      I totally would:-)

  2. Ronda said, on January 17, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    love love love this and can’t wait to see it in person!!! xoxo


Leave a Reply

