Pomp And Circumstance

The Fine Miss Divine

Posted in D.I.Y., Decor Files by Miss Circumstance on February 7, 2011

I posted last week about a room I am working on for a client, Miss Divine. We have been calling it “The Man-Cave”, because it’s one of those downstairs common areas that is used for gaming and general man-hanging. The mark I am trying to hit is manly and comfy, yet not ugly and not actually cave-like.  It’s not that big of a space, but I’ve got to get in as much seating as possible for those massive group Halo destruct-o warcraft games that people play. I know you guys are actually playing Just Dance down there. I just know it.

Here is the inspiration board I put together to get this project going, and show the client what I am aiming for-

Because I buy a lot of second-hand furniture, and usually do some sort of painting or re-upholstering, the items I plop into these inspiration boards are really just that- inspirations. They are not the actual piece we’ll get, but it shows the look or feel I’m going for, and gives people who are not necessarily visual by nature an idea of what the heck I’m talking about, and helps them to know the wood cane and wicker-ish back chairs that I am trying to describe are not actually hideous….I promise. It’s pretty impossible to add in all the detail in an inspiration board, because those are often the things that come together more organically as you go. And it leaves a bit of surprise.

So pretty soon we will be putting together the actual space, and then I can share! They’ll be some fun and easy DIY’s, and a couple before and after’s.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Christopher Miller said, on February 8, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    Pretty cool man cave, lady. Is there any Giants memorabilia? A cooler?

    • Miss Circumstance said, on February 9, 2011 at 9:30 am

      A giant foam finger

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. […] Posted in D.I.Y., Decor Files by Miss Circumstance on March 24, 2011 I made this pendant for The Fine Miss Divine’s downstairs room that I recently finished making over. Pics and posts to come on that soon, but I […]


Leave a Reply

