Pomp And Circumstance

And This Bird Can Sing

Posted in Uncategorized by Miss Circumstance on May 2, 2011

Look at my mom and dad, looking so effortlessly hip and casual cool. In this next week my dad turns 60 and it’s mother’s day, and I’ve found myself lately having many moments of “Holy cannoli I’m turning into my parents”. Today is a perfectly awesome mid 70 degree today, and Van and I have been outside soaking up the sun and playing around in the water and planting stuff. I was sitting in my lounge chair watching him splash around, listening to Bob Dylan sing “You Ain’t Goin Nowhere”, and feeling perfectly 100% satisfied. You know those this-is-what-life-should-be-and-I-am-a-happy-chick-right -now moments? Then it dawned on me that is so my dad. He would sit in his chair in Boulder Creek and stare at the sky with his hands behind his head for eon’s listening to Bob Dylan, and my brother and sister and I were always like “uhhhhhh, dad’s staring at the sky again.” Now I totally get it. But music speaks my language. One time my sister walked around the corner to find my dad sitting in the bathroom sink reading Rolling Stone. What the what??

I grew up with Burning Down The House, End Of The Line, When I Grow Up To Be A Man, Hide Your Love Away, and Tangled Up In Blue. Elvis and The Beatles were on my wall (with a stint of New Kids On The Block, which I now proudly tell people was my first concert).

Dad’s 60th birthday is Beatnik Theme. We will be fully immersing ourselves in Cafe Like Wow. Much documentation will be happening and we will certainly share. So here is to slowly turning into our parents, who, as it turns out, are wicked awesome.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Joan said, on May 2, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    Your parents are soooooo awesome, and very cool ! ! ! !

  2. mary jordan said, on May 3, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    Thank you sweetie…i had forgotten some of that …brings back so many fun memories…Dad will smile when i show him this, and probably cry a little too…he’s so sappy, and yes, a very content man.


Leave a Reply

