Pomp And Circumstance

What Is To Come…

Posted in Uncategorized by Miss Circumstance on June 3, 2011

Next week, Miss Pomp and I will be spending a ridiculous amount of hours sitting in a parking lot waiting to experience the awesome-ness that is U2’s 360 Tour. This may or may not be my 8th time seeing them, I may or may not be waiting 12 hours in one spot so that I can be in the front, and I may or may not be using vacation time to make this so.

This is us last time around, in front of the Rose Bowl-

It was about 100 degrees that day, and us dummies didn’t bring any chairs or beach umbrellas. And this ain’t my first rodeo….I don’t know what I was thinking. So we pitched some lame tent with a blanket and tried to squeeze all four of us into the itsy bit of shade it created. And after a certain amount of hours you start to think anything is funny and entertaining….we thought we were regular Jimmy Fallon’s in this picture.

Once they began attempting to move the line inside, all chaos broke loose, and the best most disturbing was one parent shrieking “Leave it Timmy leave it!!!” to their 6-year-old son who dropped his toy in the stampede and was crying, as grown people were trampling awnings, chairs, and food so as not to lose their place. I promise I keep a bit more dignity than that. Not much, but a bit. Miss Pomp on the other hand……

And that’s us kickin’ it on the rail, cause booyah, that’s where we were. Ain’t nothin’ like a front row U2 concert. I’ve left off the “g” in way too many words….

And this is also where we may or may not have seen a dude pee in a water bottle, put the cap back on, and toss it on the ground. Gross.

So, Tuesday next week that’s where we’ll be. In the parking lot of Oakland Coliseum. The plan is to post multiple times throughout the day with pictures and video of a day-in-the-life-of-us-weirdos-who-stand-in-line-for-12-hours-and-think-it-totally-worth-it.

Tagged with: , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Vintagehoney said, on June 3, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    Ahh! I was totally there for that U2 concert. totally had to leave you a comment.

    but my tale went sorta like… parked in the driveway of my parents rental house and walked down past the massive thrones of cars piled up in and around the rose bowl. I stepped over Timmy’s toy and somehow managed to CUT THE ENTIRE LINE on accident. swear it was an accident. My seats were on the tippy top of the rose bowl and as a Pasadena hometown girl…Ive never in my life seen the bowl that packed nor the area.

    In fact we got lost leaving. couldn’t figure out which hill was ours to walk back up and out of the basin. did I mention I am from Pasadena??? 20+ years of hanging out in the Rose Bowl? I blame the heat.

    best show 21 dollars could ever buy me and I am so incredible jealous your seeing them again.

    not jealous you will be at the Oakland coliseum though lol.

  2. Debbie said, on June 6, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    completely worth it. i’d be right there in the 12 hour line, front of the pack, peeing in a cup, in the pit, laughing at everything and nothing, taking in all it’s grandure, that is…a U2 concert. have a blast, for the 9th time ;]


Leave a Reply

