Pomp And Circumstance

I Never Dreamed I’d Meet A Girl Like You

Posted in D.I.Y., Decor Files by Miss Circumstance on August 22, 2011

I got to do all the decor and flowers for a friend’s wedding a few weekends ago. She was a super fun person to do a job for because she pretty much gave me free-reign. She even let me turn some old metal filing cabinets into a cupcake tower. Awesome.

Though I know how to turn me some trash into treasure, my camera skills leave something to be desired. So these crummy off-colored pictures don’t do everything justice, but it’s still fun to share. (*The cake isn’t totally set up yet in this picture. Fast forward about twenty minutes to me and Miss Pomp trying to stack the tiered cake silently during the ceremony, and me accidentally punching it on the side. Yup. That’s right. I punched the cake.)

Those vases I wrapped in grey and white striped bakers twine. Yeah- that only took about two hours. I made use of the time and re-familiarized myself with Jordan Catalano and the Frozen Embryos.

This chalkboard saying idea I saw online somewhere…Green Wedding Shoes maybe?

I collected various gold containers from Goodwill and other thrift stores to use as centerpieces. I wanted something shiny for texture, and I liked how the gold looked with the pink and tiffany-ish blue. But I wanted them used and a bit weathered so it wasn’t too shiny. The tables had vases of either yellow roses, fushia dahlias, or pale peach roses.

The evening may or may not have included karaoke, and may or may not have had the groom singing Flock of Seagulls (…a girl like ewe-ew-ew), and may or may not have included a couple of Misses rapping Timbaland.

It was a small wedding with a lets-be-creative-and-thrifty type budget. I don’t know about you, but those are the ones I sometimes find the most charming.

Here are a couple of tips for making a wedding feel not cookie cutter, and to communicate detail and thoughtfulness:

1. Bring in furniture pieces to use in place of folding tables for drink stations, cake tables, buffets, etc. Desks, workbenches, consoles, side tables, and dressers are ways to add character, make your guests feel like they are at home, and go against the wedding-factory feel of the same-old-same-old. It’s also a great way to add in pops of color.

2. Signage. I’m all about signage and have been known to use it even for things that don’t need a sign. I once made a sign for an event I did that said “Coasters Are Your Friends….” by a stack of coasters. Signs that are pretty and graphically go with your decor make things feel cohesive. It’s one of those details that you might not take huge notice of when they are there, but you notice their absence when they are not. It infuses your theme everywhere possible. And I don’t mean theme in a pirate or Star Wars kind of way. It can be as subtle as stripes, or just a consistency in color and font. And it is an inexpensive way to “decorate”

3. Speaking of fonts, pick one or two and use throughout, from invitations right on through to the event.

4. Use trays unabashedly and un ashamed. Trays corral items and immediately turn it into a collection. Use them. They’re awesome.

5. Try using glassware, vases, wire caddies, lacquered boxes, and the aforementioned tray to display needed and necessary items like napkins and utensils. Again, it takes the necessary and makes it thoughtful. In one of the pictures above you can see I put grey and white striped straws in vintage gold trimmed glassware. Did they need straws for their drinks? N to the capitol O. But, they were fun, out of the ordinary, and an extension of the Jordan Catalano twine wrapped vases. You gotta add some unneccessary in a couple of places.

Tagged with: , , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Diana said, on August 22, 2011 at 10:13 am

    Very nice ensemble. Very unique and festive. Nicely done.

  2. The Bride said, on August 22, 2011 at 11:55 am

    You did an amazing job for my wedding! It was more than I ever imagined! The file cabinets…how awesome is that considering we met at the office! I love seeing the pics you posted of all the details…it was such a busy day, I feel like I missed some of these things. Thank you for sharing and for making my wedding so amazing!!! Hugs

  3. The Bride said, on August 22, 2011 at 11:58 am

    Ps- you and Miss Pomp rocked JT!!! So awesomely entertaining! I feel like I should post you a pic:)

  4. Katie said, on August 24, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    JORDAN CATALANO!!!!


Leave a Reply

