Pomp And Circumstance

To Rod Or Not To Rod

Posted in Uncategorized by Miss Circumstance on September 7, 2011

I’ve been searching for a curtain rod for my bedroom, but I need it be 158″ long, which turns out is a crazy long curtain rod. My first thought was to go to Home Depot and get a really long wood pole, and paint it the same color as the wall to make it disappear a bit. But, turns out such a pole doesn’t exist beyond about 12 1/2 feet. I’ve read about people using conduit pipe- it’s cheap and minimal, but I am not sure if I like that idea. Maybe if I could paint it the wall color. I think I lean towards curtain hardware that disappears more than trys to be an additional decoration or adornment.

I love these curtains on the cover of Elle Decor, and might try to duplicate those in Van’s room. Seems like just a lot of fabric, and maybe mounted good velcro onto a hidden strip of wood right under the ceiling (uh, pretty sure that’s not how they did it, but my I Can Make That disease tells me otherwise).

Though none of these are long enough for my room, here are some options for you should you be roaming in the curtain rod aisle-

West Elm

Potterybarn

Target

I gotta tell ya, there is not that much out there. Nothing is really floating my boat. Have you found anything cool? I was also thinking I like the idea of a gold one, but not shiny cheap looking gold. Pretty perhaps vintage looking gold? But not shabby chic or weirdly speckled or something. I don’t know. I guess I’ll know it when I see it. And may it be 158″.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ky said, on September 8, 2011 at 11:23 am

    Any rod or pipe that long is gonna sag, even if you pack it. Been there, tried that🙂
    You’ll need a center support bracket. Then you can use two rods and splice them at center.

  2. Ky said, on September 8, 2011 at 11:29 am

    Roman shades of that style tend to sag toward center and develop “smile” lines unless A LOT of structure is sewn into the side edges…

  3. Curtain Update « Pomp And Circumstance said, on October 10, 2011 at 9:40 am

    […] remember how I was on the hunt for a super-duper long rod (first mentioned here)? Not that kind of rod people…come on now. I ended up getting two sections of 1.5″ […]


Leave a Reply

