Pomp And Circumstance

Curtain Update

Posted in D.I.Y., Decor Files by Miss Circumstance on October 10, 2011

So remember how I was on the hunt for a super-duper long rod (first mentioned here)? Not that kind of rod people…come on now. I ended up getting two sections of 1.5″ closet dowels and painting them the same color as my wall, and also get the generic wood mounting pieces that go with them, also painted the same color as my wall. They’re held together in the middle by two flat, short brackets, some wood glue, and a prayer. Here it is so far, an unfinished work-

*Super sorry for the crummy pictures. Lighting in here is bad and my camera skilz are weak

I’m showing you real time- none of this perfectly styled night stands stuff with nothing you actually see on a night stand on them. Here’s ours warts and all- cords, back rollers, monitor.

It needs way more curtain rings than I thought, hence the panel on the right side hanging you-mama-said-you-ugly style with three rings. But, I’m really liking it so far. All that fabric makes it feel warmer, cozier, richer, and more lush.

There are some very funky things about this room that I haven’t quite figured out how to work with. The beam on the ceiling is not centered to the room or the windows, making the pendant light look totally in the wrong place. I’ve thought about re-arranging the room, or moving the bed to the slightly. But now I’m thinking about moving the pendant light over, so it hangs from the ceiling instead of the beam. It’s a weird idea and not normal, but I’m thinking maybe you wont really notice where it’s suspended from? I’m hoping the centered light will trump the weird suspension point. We shall see.

Tagged with: , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Diana said, on October 11, 2011 at 9:33 am

    Love it! Looks Great! Way to be innovative!


Leave a Reply

