Pomp And Circumstance

What To Do With A Salvaged Dresser

Posted in Decor Files by Miss Circumstance on November 18, 2011

So the other day I got this dresser from a glorified dump for $10. It is going to go in my 8-year-old son’s room, and I can’t quite decide what to do with it. Part of me wants something unexpected and fun, and another part wants something clean and nice and classic, but beautiful.

I’ve been liking this ombre effect that I have seen in a couple of places-

lilyfieldfurniture.blogspot.com

While I don’t love the style of this dresser, I like the idea of opening the drawers and having them be a different color-

chrissiescollections.blogspot.com

I love dressers that have those corner brass things with brass hardware, and I especially like it with modern glossy colors like this red or a kelly green-

horchata-jessieleigh.blogspot.com

 

A green like this?-

culdesacchic.blogspot.com

 

I also am diggin’ this dark indigo color-

pepperdesignblog.com

I don’t know! So many choices! What do you guys think?? Any other ideas?

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. leslie d.kaufmann said, on November 18, 2011 at 10:59 am

    YEARS AGO,I TOOK ALL THE DRAWERS OUT OF AN OLD DRESSER AND PUT CUT OUT PICTURES OF FLOWERS FROM OLD FLOWER CATALOGS ALL OVER THE DRAWERS AND PAINTED THE DRESSER ITSELF WHITE..IT WAS A HUGE HIT AND MY DAUGHTER HAD IT IN HER ROOM FOREVER..YOU COULD USE WHATEVER SPORTS YOUR SON IS INVOLVED IN..AND PAINT IT AN APPROPRIATE COLOR..
    after you decoupage the drawers,you need to add a coating over them all to protect the paper.i can tell you my dresser is still perfect..and i added cute pulls..white ironstone pulls.

  2. Miss Pomp said, on November 18, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    I think you should gold-leaf it in a chevron type pattern, ala this tray:

    http://www.dykast.us/2011/11/03/diy-stripe-tray/

  3. Shannon said, on November 18, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    Gotta be the dark indigo. Love it!

  4. Casey M said, on November 23, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    Dark indigo is my FAVE! Especially with the flora overlay on the top two drawers…take a chance on it!
    🙂

  5. […] the dresser I got at the glorified dump place? I had all kinds of good ideas for it, and Jaden was a fan of the […]


Leave a Reply

