Pomp And Circumstance

Abstract Art Tutorial

Posted in Decor Files by Miss Circumstance on January 9, 2012

One of the blogs I read, Oh Happy Day!, talked through how to do an abstract art painting. One of the things she said was how easy she always thought it looked (Guilty. Remember, I am riddled with the I-can-make-that disease), and thought she could just slap some paint on a canvas, but upon closer inspection realized the ones she liked were many layers of color and texture. She does some great explaining on things like “toning the canvas” (what the what?? Didn’t even know what that was), and patience (doh. I guess I’ll have to get some of that), and blocking out colors (thought that was basketball but I have been enlightened).

Mixing paints, while starting with just a few colors

Read the full post here

See the whole post here

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] friends! A few weeks ago, I saw this lamp shade and immediately started exhibiting signs of my “I can make that” disease, which I of course caught from Miss C long […]

  2. […] used this tutorial as a guide, cause homegirl needs step by step instructions even for something that is […]

  3. […] Abstract Art Tutorial (pompandcircumstance.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Abstract Art Tutorial (pompandcircumstance.wordpress.com) 53.460553 -2.742256 Share this:TwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]


Leave a Reply

