Pomp And Circumstance

Wanna Make Your Own Roman Shade…You So Can

Posted in D.I.Y., Decor Files by Miss Circumstance on April 3, 2012

…well it’s sort of a roman shade. Besides the fabric itself, and the Bias tape I bought, I literally made this whole thing from stuff I had lying around. I felt sort of Gilligan-like. Like my curtain was the equivalent of making a phone out of a coconut. I wanted the shade to have one of those header box things. I don’t know what their called, but I know I like them, so I looked around the house for some clever idea of how to make my po’ person shade with a header-box thing. Here’s what I came up with-

  • Foam Core Board
  • Hot Glue
  • Straight Pins
  • Sticky Back Velcro Squares
  • Store Bought White Linen Curtain Panels (Holla Ikea)
  • Tie backs that come with the curtain panels
  • Existing curtain rod

That’s it.

First I cut the foam core board to the size that I wanted (I need two pieces to make the length I needed), and attached them together by gluing an extra piece of foam core board on the back side over the seam. Hot glue baby…it’s the bomb. I was worried it might melt through, but it didn’t. Then I laid the fabric out, folded it around the corners, and hot glued it in place.

That’s its ba-dunk-a-dunk (aka backside).

I glued these strips on the backside also. Their sole purpose is to use as ties to attach this header thing to the curtain rod. You won’t end up seeing them at all.

 

I bought bias tape in GoldenRod to use as trim…

…because I loved the color and it was way cheaper than buying ribbon. I only needed two packs, and I think they are under 3 bucks a pack. You just have to iron it first (its folded in half so when you iron it flat it doubles in size. Wider trim= curtains that look more expensive. In my unsolicited opinion). So I just hot glued this stuff around the header box thing.

The curtain panel itself happened to be the perfect width for my window. Yippy Skippy! That means I didn’t even have to sew anything! I just cut off the excess fabric in length (and that’s what I used for the header box thing). And all I did was fold some fabric over the top of the rod and use straight pins to keep it in place-

The beauty is you won’t see any of this top part, so it doesn’t matter that it is geh-tto. I pinned the tie backs up there too, because we are going to use those as what will hold up the panel when you want to actually open the thing.

A closer look-

*Side note– I pinned it all first just to make sure it all fit ok, then took it down and glued on all the trim, then pinned it back up again. Then I used those strips of fabric I glued to the back of the header and tied them around the ends of the curtain rod.

I used sticky back velcro squares to put on the back of the tie back,and then on the backside of the curtain panel so you can do this-

Crummy pictures. Awesome curtain.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] and personalization to things. I use it often to glue trim to curtains panels (I used it on my DIY roman shade), and I think it’s one of the best things to use to re-cover lampshades. The glue heats up […]

  2. Solomon Ballou said, on October 11, 2012 at 11:01 pm

    Curtain rods that are made from aluminum are the best since the are very light and strong. ,’.*,

    Most interesting post on our own blog site
    http://www.melatoninfaq.com/melatonin-overdose/


Leave a Reply

