Pomp And Circumstance

Summer

Posted in D.I.Y., Decor Files, Inspiration by Miss Circumstance on June 8, 2012

About a month ago I started tearing up my backyard. All by myself. I felt like a brut. Our “lawn” is really more like a plot of weeds that when mowed has the appearance of lawn. The yard is pretty big, and goes far over to the left out of the picture. So we have a lot of grass which made me not worried about losing any for this project. In this picture I had dug up all that dirt and started sticking in these cement squares. I know you are supposed to lay down sand, and stomp stuff down, and pound down other stuff. But we are renters and I didn’t really want to do all that. And I actually kind of dig the imperfection of not perfectly even or straight rows, and having them just stuck in the dirt makes them look like they have been there a long time. I like that.

It’s not finished yet, but here is the-work-in-progress shot-

As you can see, cushions still need to be purchased, plants need to grow, but we love it. Especially the fire pit, given to us by friends. So awesome!! We’ve already had 3 s’mores parties. Cause there ain’t no party like a s’mo party.

We also were finally able to bust out this hammock I bought on sale from Anthropologie last year because SUMMER IS HERE! And I love summer. We always had a hammock growing up, so in my opinion every family needs a hammock. Dad naps on it, and the kids rock it out on it by swinging way to hard and putting way to many people on it. Although aint none of that happening on my Anthropologie hammock. Well, just a little.

Leave a Reply

