Pomp And Circumstance

A Broad Abroad: Barcelona!

Posted in A Broad Abroad, Fashion Files, Inspiration, Pomp Day-By-Day by Miss Pomp on June 13, 2012

Our first full day in Barcelona, we visited the Sagrada Familia, a Roman Catholic church designed by Antoni Gaudi. Construction began on the site in 1882, and is still continuing today.  It was as crowded as I’ll get out, but still totally beautiful and worth the sea of people we had to wade through.

The ceiling inside the Sagrada Familia was amazing. It was metallic gold and white (talk about speaking to me in a language I can understand!).

While on one of our many (LONG) walks, we came across this slanted brick wall, and Husband quickly decided it was absolutely necessary for me to lay on it so he could take a picture…Unfortunately it was a little too slanted, and I couldn’t stop myself from sliding down it every time I tried….The result of which is this action shot:

One of the interesting things about Europe is the vast array of street performers. My favorite one by far was this guy on La Rambla, a main thoroughfare through the heart of Barcelona with lots of shops and restaurants (and tourists – blah! I realize I was one, but I tried to avoid touristy spots when possible).

(Note: This guy is standing perfectly still, and there was no wind that day)

 On Me: Anthropologie Languid Paisley Maxi Dress, Anthropologie Biker Melange Jacket, J. Crew Brompton Hobo

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aleksandra said, on June 13, 2012 at 11:54 pm

    Wonderful! Barcelona is one of the most beautiful cities in Europe. And the performer is amazing – I thought that you caught a guy who was in the rush on a windy day🙂

  2. Lisa Kimberly said, on June 25, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    Oh, this post is making me miss spain so much! (I lived there for 3 1/2 years right before I moved here to california) Barcelona was definitely one of my favorite cities to visit, and the Sagrada Familia was so epic. Did you get a chance to visit Gaudi’s Casa Batlló?

    By the way, I’m loving the whole ‘broad abroad’ feature….keep it up!🙂


Leave a Reply

