Pomp And Circumstance

How To Customize Standard Shades

Posted in Circumstance's Home, D.I.Y., Decor Files, Inspiration by Miss Circumstance on September 10, 2012

I ordered these roman shades from Overstock to update the boy’s room a bit, now that they are sharing a room.

Your basic bamboo or woven shade. Under $30 thank you very much. My kind of shade. And I like the texture and colors. I had seen this picture in a Lonny Mag article way back when and saved it so I could steal copy use it as inspiration-

And that’s what I did straight up. I took the length of the shade and multiplied it by four (then divided it by three. Duh I guess but worth mentioning) to know how many yards of brown velvet ribbon I needed.

I got a ribbon that is 2″ wide because anything thinner I thought would get swallowed up by the shade. The nice thing about these shades is the thread gives you a straight line to lay the ribbon right on top of. No centering or measuring required. Hallelujah cause I’ve done that a billion times over on other projects. I’ll take a free-be.

Then you just hot glue in place ( I told ya a hot glue gun is gonna be one of your new best friends)

I folded the ribbon back on itself, put a long strip of hot glue on each side of the ribbon, then folded it back onto the shade and pressed it down.

So I find that for an additional 12 bucks you have shades that look a bit more expensive and custom. I used brown velvet because I didn’t want too much a contrast, just added texture and luxury. But there was a super cool snake print faux leather one I almost came home with. Maybe for another day.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. joshengelhardt said, on September 11, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    These look real nice. Trust me.

  2. Clarissa said, on September 11, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    That’s a cool idea…i am gonna try this one day.


Leave a Reply

