Pomp And Circumstance

DIY Driftwood Table

Posted in D.I.Y., Decor Files by Miss Circumstance on September 21, 2012

I’ve been wanting to make this table for a while now, and I actually originally made it to go outside but then I liked it too much and yoinked it for inside my boy’s room. Here’s your supply list:

-Driftwood (duh)

-Plywood for top

-Drill

-Screws

-Wood Glue

-Spray Paint

-Level

-Small pieces of wood for leveling out top (like 2″x4″)

I collected various sizes of driftwood, and tried to look for pieces that would be pretty sculpturally and also be stabilizing.

This was one piece I chose to build the whole thing around. It already stood by itself so it made it easy to add too, and hey, bonus- I can check “what if my table doesn’t actually stand up” off my list of possible things that could go wrong with this project.

Then you just begin selecting and either rejecting or choosing your next pieces based on what fits right. It is sort of like a puzzle. I built both toward the ground to continue stabilization, and up, remembering that I have to create a good platform to attach a table top to.

Once you choose a piece and know where you want to attach it, pre-drill a little hole so your screws go in easier.

Keep in mind the height you want your table to end up being so you can make sure to pick long enough pieces of wood. You can see not all my pieces will end up actually touching the table top, and thats ok. As long as you have enough to secure the top.

And, TIP- periodically place a level across some of your top pieces to try to keep them as level as possible for the table top. That will make your job easier later.

Next, spray paint. I sprayed the crud out of it. I probably should have primed it first because the wood can just kind of soak up the paint. But I just used about two cans of spray paint and many many coats.

Then you lay the top on to see how level or unlevel it is, and where you need to add shims to even it out.

Once you see where it needs to be raised, place some wood glue on the top and bottom of your blocks and attach them to those spots. Then drill through the top of the table, making sure the screws go through the table top, all the way through the wood block to the driftwood itself.

Your last steps are to make sure you sink the screws enough so you can use wood filler to smooth out the surface (so you can’t see the screws), then prime and paint your top.

That’s it ya’ll.  I love the organic feel of it mixed with the glam gold spacey lights. It’s a keeper for me.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. joshengelhardt said, on September 21, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    My wife is crazy creative. This table looks even better in person than in the pics.

  2. Aleksandra said, on September 22, 2012 at 1:55 am

    What an idea! I`m going straight to the woods to collect some wood 🙂


Leave a Reply

