Pomp And Circumstance

How To Turn A Vintage Flag Into Art

Posted in Circumstance's Home, D.I.Y., Decor Files by Miss Circumstance on October 1, 2012

I got this tore up old flag awhile ago at a vintage store around the corner from my house. It has been rolled up on a shelf in my garage while I figured out what to do with it. I’ve been working on my boys room a bit (slowwwwwlllllyyy), and needed a big blast of oversized something, and I wanted red in it. I want to eventually bring in some rich, Moroccan style textiles somehow (maybe big toss pillows for the bed), but for now I had this flag, and I wanted to use something I already had.

Now this flag is dur-tay. It’s got stains and rips all up on itself. I debated washing it, but decided I actually liked the dirt (gasp) and was worried the colors might bleed or the whole thing would just disappear in a poof of oldness in the washer. Disintegration.

All you need for this project is stretcher bars (purchased at your local art supply store) and a  staple gun (your new bff). When measuring for your stretcher bars, make sure to take into consideration you need to wrap the edges of the fabric (or flag) around the sides of the stretcher bars. So don’t get them too long.

The stretcher bars come in pieces, so you get all four sides and put them together. They come with groves in them that slip into each other, but, you also need to staple the corners together with your staple gun (like above picture).

When your done, it will look like this:

Next lay it out on a big flat surface (I just did it on the floor), and make sure to have the side that you want facing out to be facing the floor. Then you start stapling, and you start with two opposite corners, then do the other two opposite corners.

I find it easier to choose one of the sides, and place a staple in the middle of that side, then continue stretching the fabric and stapling it down the rest of that side.

I ended up standing it up on its side and stapling that way (after I did the four corners), because I couldn’t get a good angle on it while it was on the floor.

Emily Henderson’s living room is one of the first places I saw this idea…..imitation is a high form of flattery, right?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. joshengelhardt said, on October 4, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    I was stoked to see this in the boys’ room when I got home!

  2. Dacia @ Lemon Drop Life said, on October 12, 2012 at 8:04 am

    Looks great! And I love that you left it dirty, it gives it character!!🙂


Leave a Reply

