Pomp And Circumstance

A Broad Abroad: Italy – The Cinque Terre Part Due!

Posted in A Broad Abroad, Fashion Files, Inspiration, Pomp Day-By-Day by Miss Pomp on October 25, 2012

After recovering from our late night out and day of hiking, we spent our second full day in the Cinque Terre checking out the 4th and 5th towns – Manarola and Riomaggiore. It was a sunny, beautiful day (although a bit windy and chilly at times), and there was nothing better we could have done than ambling along the coast (and eating lots of yummy things along the way).

(Pants and tank – J. Crew, Leather jacket (a couple shots below) – Anthropologie)

I never met a statue I didn’t want to mimic

The hike from Manarola to Riomaggiore is known as the Via Dell’Amore – “Love Walk” – couples fasten padlocks to this chain-link fence and throw away the key to symbolically lock up their love.

We stopped here on the Via Dell’Amore to picnic…. A baguette, prosciutto, brie, pesto, and a nice bottle of red wine… life doesn’t get much better than that.

 

Husband – “Let’s go down by the water”

Me – “Okay”

I titled this one “Consequences”

And another highlight of the day – we had the best gelato of the entire trip in Riomaggiore. I mean, of the ENTIRE TRIP. We stopped at Gelateria Centrale, and had Fragola (strawberry) and Fior di Latte (literally translating to milk flower) gelato that would have literally blown my socks off – had I been wearing socks.

 

If you have a good gelato place, I’d love to hear about it, I’m willing to travel pretty far for a delicious gelato.

 

And don’t forget to check out my Instagram! I’m Misspomp. Come on why don’t cha!

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Natalie Heather said, on October 25, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    Gorgeous photography! I just found your blog and I really like it. And those pants! To die for. I loved the little bit about going down to the water…

  2. joshengelhardt said, on October 25, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    YUM

  3. Miss Pomp said, on October 27, 2012 at 10:27 am

    Thanks Natalie! Welcome to P&C!

  4. Megan said, on December 4, 2012 at 5:24 pm

    Hello girls! I’d like to re-publish your image of gelato with permission – would be happy to link back to your site. Let me know what you think! Thanks

    • Megan said, on December 4, 2012 at 5:27 pm

      whoops, you can contact me easily on twitter @peglegmeg. it would go in a travel article on Go Overseas! (www.gooverseas.com)


Leave a Reply

