Pomp And Circumstance

Countdown To Christmas – DIY Gift Series – Put A Monogram On It!

Posted in Countdown to Christmas, D.I.Y., Decor Files, Inspiration by Miss Pomp on December 19, 2012

WARNING – IF YOU ARE RELATED TO ME, OR ARE ONE OF MY FRIENDS/ACQUAINTANCES/LONG LOST THIRD COUSINS TWICE REMOVED, DO NOT READ THIS POST, AND ESPECIALLY DO NOT LOOK AT THE PICTURES. NOBODY LIKES A SPOILED SURPRISE.

One of my favorite ways to personalize gifts is to add a monogram. In fact, you may have noticed that we P&C ladies are having a love affair with monogramming. It’s simple, easy, and in my opinion, totally amaze-balls.

Here’s a tray, that quite frankly I liked already, that I monogrammed for some very special friends for Christmas (which is only 6 days away by-the-by – YIKES!).

Before:

IMG_9916

Step 1: Tape off your area to be painted, and sand away! You don’t have to completely sand off the finish, just scuff it up enough that paint will stick.  
IMG_0006

Step 2: Add a monogram! I centered my “B” and affixed it to the tray by rolling blue tape. I then added the first layer of paint, focusing my strokes outward from the B.

IMG_0009

Step 3: Layer, layer, layer! I removed my B, and added subsequent layers of paint until I was satisfied with the color, carefully tracing around the B each time. Be sure to let each layer dry before adding the next. 
IMG_0011

And there she lies in all her glory! Now you see it…
IMG_0043

Now you don’t….
IMG_0052

Need more inexpensive, quick and easy DIY gift ideas? Don’t forget to check out some of our other ideas here and here!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tami Manchester said, on December 19, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    I think an M would have looked fantastic on that tray … just sayin!


Leave a Reply

