Pomp And Circumstance

Searching For The Perfect Desk

Posted in D.I.Y., Decor Files by Miss Circumstance on January 28, 2013

So this crazy lady walked into a bar…….a furniture bar. And by furniture bar I mean store. And by crazy lady I mean me.

I have been hunting, searching, obsessing, going mentally bonkers over trying to find the right desk for my boys. I don’t want to be doing this. I want to find one. I want to just pick one! And be done! But nothing is quite right.

It needs to be long (close to 70″), not too deep (maybe 24″??), and hopefully have some kind of storage or drawers. And, I would like to not pay more than $200. I sound like the dummies on Selling New York who tell their Real Estate Agent they want a fireplace, a view, a doorman, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, all in Manhattan, for under one million. What am I smoking???

I thought this might work-

Cost Plus World Market Campaign Desk

I like the look, but in person it was really rickety, and the drawer was like an inch deep. Basically zero storage. Mashugana. I’m trying to avoid Ikea, because I’m hoping to find something with a bit more character. I’m probably looking at a DIY. I googled “long skinny desk”, and this is by far the weirdest picture that came up-

 

That’ll keep ya up at night.

I have looked at Goodwill probably 16 times, and visited local vintage furniture stores. I indeed feel like a crazy person, who will end up rocking back and forth perched on the edge of my couch chewing my nails, muttering “must find desk” over and over again.

For awhile I looked for a couple of filing cabinets that I could paint or makeover, and put a nice piece of wood or old table top over the top of them, but that has kind of bombed out.

I like the look of this, but maybe with some amazing brass hardware instead of those brushed stainless ones-

I would like to keep my sanity and find a desk soon……any ideas???

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jonnysamps said, on January 28, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    At first I thought those were you’re toes… SO glad they’re not. Gross!

  2. cindy said, on January 28, 2013 at 6:30 pm

    I thought those were your toes, too and I was like, “I’ve seen her toes before and those aren’t it!” Those toes are kind of not as cute as yours….About the desk, sorry I have more thoughts about the toes.

  3. hostgator coupons said, on July 11, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession
    capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your
    blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently fast.


Leave a Reply

