Pomp And Circumstance

DIY Stripe Candles

Posted in D.I.Y., Decor Files by Miss Circumstance on February 4, 2013

IMG_0147

I made these for a company Christmas party client back in December (duh), because I needed a lot of them and did not want to pay upwards of $12 a pair. I ended up getting plain cream-colored candles from the Dollar Tree, but Trader Joe’s also has a 12 pack for a really good price. They are simple it’s true, but a couple of things to know that would make or break this project….

1. Clean the candles first with rubbing alcohol and a cotton ball

This step is pretty important because it helps the paint adhere to the candle

2. Next tape off the area you DO NOT want paint to be. 

I had to re-do this when I realized I did not want paint on the wick part, which means I have to put tape on that part. So, start by taping off the wick end first, then work your way down.

IMG_0101

3. Paint with NON-OIL BASE PAINT. WATER BASE PEOPLE!

Super important if you don’t want your candle to burn in some kind of toxic mess. I just used my kids black Tempera Paint.

Screen shot 2013-02-04 at 9.15.54 AM

I used two or three coats, and it dries pretty fast in between coats. I used a shallow dish filled with dried beans to stand up the candle sticks to dry.

IMG_0103

Lastly, peel the tape off, but do it gently cause it is easy to scrape off the paint (the down side of water-base paint, but, I’m thinkin’ the easy scratch off is a no-brainer compared to the choice of toxic fire hazard)

IMG_0117

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chantal M. said, on February 11, 2013 at 5:06 am

    I am a big fan of candlelight and these candles are really adorable. I love the idea, have to try it when this year’s Christmas come. Who am I kidding, I’m gonna try it next time I have few hours to spare. Thank you very much for sharing.


Leave a Reply

